Voting for the L.A. Film Critics Award Winners is underway (updating live).

Robbie Ryan won the first prize of the day for “Poor Things”‘ finest cinematography.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association is now accepting votes for its annual awards.

The reviewers organization chose Tár and Everything Everywhere All at Once as the winners of last year’s top prize. Later, in March, the former took home the best picture Oscar at the 95th Academy Awards. The winners of this year will be honored on January 13, 2024, during the organization’s annual banquet.

According to earlier announcements from the association, Agnieszka Holland will receive this year’s Career Achievement Award during the live celebration. Because of her film Green Border, which describes the appalling conditions experienced by migrants trying to enter Poland from Belarus, the right-wing Polish government has launched attacks against the three-time Oscar nominee and director born in Poland.

Killers of the Flower Moon, directed by Martin Scorsese, won the National Board of Review and New York Film Critics Circle prizes for best picture prior to this year’s L.A. Film Critics prizes.

The group’s pick for best picture usually results in a nomination for the top honor of the evening. Gender-neutral acting categories will be included in the L.A. Film Critics Association Awards for the second year running.

As soon as the 2023 LAFCA winners are revealed, The Hollywood Reporter will update the list below. To see the most recent, refresh.

  • Runner-Up for Best Picture:
  • Runner-Up for Best Director:
  • Runners-Up: Top Performances
  • Runners-Up: Supporting Performances
  • Second-best screenplay:
  • Robbie Ryan and Poor Things have the best cinematography. Rodrigo Prieto, Killers of the Flower Moon, and Barbie come in second and third.
  • Best Editing: Second Place:
  • Runner-Up for Best Production Design:
  • Best Music Score: Second Place:
  • Runner-Up for Best Foreign Language:
  • Runner-Up for Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film:
  • Second-best animation:
  • Award for New Generation:
  • The Experimental Film Prize for Douglas Edwards:
  • Award for Career Achievement:

The group was established in 1935 and is made up of critics who are employed by print and digital media companies in Los Angeles, such as magazines, online general-interest publications, daily and weekly newspapers, and so on. People in front of and behind the camera are honored at the yearly awards.

Leave a comment


Discover more from Jar Movie

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading